SSoA Research Recognised in RIBA President’s Awards 2014

The Sheffield School of Architecture are delighted to have been recognised in the shortlist for The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) President’s Awards for Research 2014. We are proud to be represented in two categories with three shortlisted projects:

RIBA President’s Award for Outstanding Master’s Degree Thesis

Xiang Ren of the University of Sheffield: Stereotomics, tectonics and material presence: studies of the vernacular architecture of Hui Prefecture of China.

RIBA President’s Awards for Outstanding University-located Research

Flora Samuel of the University of Sheffield et al.: Home improvements.

Jian Kang, Hongseok Yang, Yuliya Smyrnowa and Chris Cheal of the University of Sheffield: Greening buildings for noise control.

The winners will be announced in October and will receive their awards on the 3 December at the RIBA Presidents Medals ceremony.

Chair of the Judging Panel, Ruth Morrow, of Queen’s University Belfast, said:

“This year’s shortlist was drawn from the second highest number of entries in the history of the Awards and displays a remarkably diverse range of work.  The panel now have some excellent reading to do over the summer and the difficult but pleasurable task of allocating the awards in September.”

For a full list of the projects shortlisted and further information about the awards please visit the RIBA website.

SSoA Exhibition Catalogue

photo 3

The SSoA Summer Exhibition Catalogue 2014 is now available.

The 140 page catalogue is fully illustrated in colour and contains a wide range of project work from students throughout the school, including our various degree programmes, MArch, post-graduate taught courses and our graduate school.

The catalogue can be purchased from the general office on floor 13, price £10.

Many thanks to our sponsors – AHMM, Bauman Lyons, BDP, Bond Bryan, Capita, Grimshaw, HCD, Hawkins\Brown, HLM, John McAslan & Partners, MSMR, OMI, Piercy & Company, Proctor & Matthews, RMA and SAPA.

Thanks also to this year’s editorial team – Ranbir Lal, Sean McGee, Andrew McKay, Olivia Radford and Kelly-Marie Rodgers.